news features

2017 GAME

Four QBs among 13 to accept invites

Mon, Dec 12, 2016

MOBILE (Dec. 12) -- Thirteen more of the top seniors from around the country have signed on to play in the 2017 Reese's Senior Bowl, including four quarterbacks.

Tennessee's Josh Dobbs, Colorado's Sefo Liufao, Pittsburgh's Nate Peterman and Tiffin's Antonio Pipkin have all accepted invites to the game. While three of the QBs play at major programs, Pipkin has dominated at the Division II level and owns the single season record for total offense in his conference.

Also included in today's group, Florida All-SEC linebacker Jarrad Davis and Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year Jordan Willis.

Eighty-one players have now signed on to play in the game, with 110 eventually landing in Mobile, Ala., for the 68th Reese's Senior Bowl on Jan. 28.

Here are all 13 accepted invites (alphabetically):

Jarrad Davis, LB, Florida – Athletic linebacker and All-SEC performer. Called the heart and soul of the Gators defense. Finished second on the team in tackles despite missing three games with an ankle injury.
Josh Dobbs, QB, Tennessee – 34 career starts in the SEC. First Tennessee quarterback in school history to rush for 2,000 yards. Completed 61.5% of his passes in his career.
Colin Holba, LS, Louisville – Two-year starting snapper with good size. Was a high school quarterback and baseball pitcher.
Dorian Johnson, OG, Pittsburgh – All-ACC performer and three-plus-year starter on the offensive line with experience at guard and tackle. Could emerge as the best guard prospect in the class.
Damontae Kazee, CB, San Diego State – Originally declared for the Draft last year before returning for senior season. Has seven interceptions this year and 17 in his career.
Sefo Liufau, QB, Colorado – 2016 Polynesian Player of the Year. Holds 87 school records. Four-year starter led Buffs to the Pac-12 title game this year.
Nathan Peterman, QB, Pittsburgh – Graduate-transfer from Tennessee that started two years at Pitt. Threw five touchdowns passes in win over Clemson and has 26 touchdowns to six interceptions in 2016.
Antonio Pipkin, QB, Tiffin – Athletic Division 2 quarterback coming off a record-breaking season. Owns the GLIAC single-season record for total offense.
Donnel Pumphrey, RB, San Diego State - Two–time Mountain West Offensive Player of the Year. Second all-time in FBS career rushing yards (108 yards shy of the record). Has 2,018 yards and 16 touchdowns this season.
Cameron Sutton, CB, Tennessee – Four-year starter, missed half of 2016 with injury. Led the nation in punt return average in 2015. Has most career passes defended in Tennessee history.
Justin Vogel, PT, Miami – Florida-transfer became three-year punter for Miami. Averaging 44.2 yards per punt this season. Also represented the Canes at ACC Media Days.
Marquez White, CB, Florida State – Dothan, Alabama native has 22 tackles and two interceptions, including one against Clemson, this season.
Jordan Willis, DE, Kansas State – 2016 Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year with a school single-season record 11.5 sacks.