news features


Boise St., Fresno St. picked in MWC

Tue, Jul 24, 2018

LAS VEGAS, NV – Boise State was chosen to finish atop the Mountain Division, while two-time Mountain West champion Fresno State was predicted to win the West Division title, as announced today by the Mountain West at its annual Media Summit, being held at The Cosmopolitan of Las Vegas.

This marks the sixth season of divisional play for the Conference, which moved to the two, six-team divisional format in 2013 following the additions of San José State and Utah State. The Mountain Division is comprised of Air Force, Boise State, Colorado State, New Mexico, Utah State and Wyoming, while Fresno State, Hawai‘i, Nevada, San Diego State, San José State and UNLV make up the West Division. The two divisional winners will meet in the MW Championship Game on Dec. 1, 2018 at the home stadium of the divisional champion with the highest winning percentage in Conference games only.

Boise State, which has been predicted to win the Mountain Division the last five seasons, finished 2017 with a 7-1 Conference record and defeated Fresno State in the 2017 Mountain West Football Championship Game, 17-14. The Broncos were a unanimous first-place pick, garnering all 22 first-place votes and 132 total points. Fifth-year head coach Bryan Harsin returns 18 starters from 2017, including six on offense and 10 on defense.

Fresno State earned 16 first-place votes in the West Division, earning 126 total points. This is the first year the Bulldogs have been favored to win the division since 2014. Last year, Fresno State compiled a 7-1 record in MW play and became only the second team in FBS history to win double-digit games in a year after losing double-digit contests the year before. The Bulldogs, who ended the 2017 campaign with a victory over Houston in the Hawai‘i Bowl, returns 17 starters from last season.

Wyoming received 95 points for second place in the Mountain Division, with Colorado State’s 82 total points, good for third place. Utah State (78), Air Force (52) and New Mexico (23) round out the Mountain Division poll.

This is the highest Wyoming has been picked to finish since the Conference switched to the two-division format.

San Diego State picked up six first-place votes and 116 total points, good for second place in the West Division. UNLV was third with 78 points, followed by Nevada (72), Hawai‘i (45) and San José State (25).


Rank    Team (first-place votes) Points

1.         Boise State (22)            132

2.         Wyoming                      95

3.         Colorado State              82

4.         Utah State                    78

5.         Air Force                      52

6.         New Mexico                  23


Rank    Team (first-place votes) Points

1.         Fresno State (16)          126

2.         San Diego State (6)       116

3.         UNLV                            78

4.         Nevada                         72

5.         Hawai‘i                         45

6.         San José State              25


The team, as selected by members of the media, features 17 student-athletes who were All-MW selections in 2017. The 25-member squad is comprised of 11 seniors, six juniors and eight sophomores.

Boise State senior quarterback Brett Rypien was named Preseason MW Offensive Player of the Year, while Wyoming senior defensive back Andrew Wingard has earned Preseason MW Defensive Player of the Year accolades for the second consecutive year. Boise State sophomore return man Avery Williams garnered Preseason MW Special Teams Player of the Year honors.

Rypien enters the 2018 campaign as the nation’s active leading passer, throwing for 9,876 yards and has thrown the fourth-most touchdown passes among active FBS quarterbacks (60) in 37 collegiate games. The native of Spokane, Washington, earned All-Mountain West first team honors in 2015 and ‘16, and second team accolades in 2017. Last season, Rypien threw for 2,857 yards and 16 touchdowns. The 2,857 passing yards were second-most among Mountain West signal-callers last year. During the past week, Rypien has been named to the preseason watch lists for the Davey O’Brien Award, which is given to the nation’s best quarterback, and the Maxwell Award, given to the best overall player nationally.

Wingard, who has earned first-team all-conference honors in back-to-back years, enters his senior season averaging 9.4 tackles per game, which ranks as the third-most among active FBS defenders. The native of Arvada, Colorado, enters 2018 with 367 career tackles, the sixth-most in Wyoming history. Wingard is just 88 tackles shy of setting the Mountain West record for career tackles, which is currently held by New Mexico’s Carmen Messina (2008-11). Last week, Wingard was named to the Bednarik Award Preseason Watch List, which is given to the top defensive player nationally. 

Williams finished the 2017 campaign ranked 13th nationally in punt return average (11.2 yards), while returning two punts for touchdowns. Additionally, the native of Pasadena, California, averaged 24.7 yards per kick return on his way to earning All-Mountain West second team honors last season.



QB        Brett Rypien**              Sr.        Boise State

WR       KeeSean Johnson**      Sr.        Fresno State

WR       McLane Mannix             So.       Nevada

RB        Alexander Mattison        Jr.        Boise State

RB        Lexington Thomas*       Sr.        UNLV

OL        Ezra Cleveland              So.       Boise State

OL        John Molchon               Jr.        Boise State

OL        Aaron Jenkins               Sr.        New Mexico

OL        Keith Ismael**              So.       San Diego State

OL        Tyler Roemer**             So.       San Diego State

TE        Dax Raymond                Jr.        Utah State



DL        David Moa**                 Sr.        Boise State

DL        Curtis Weaver*              So.       Boise State

DL        Youhanna Ghaifan*       Jr.        Wyoming

DL        Carl Granderson*          Sr.        Wyoming

LB        Jeffrey Allison*             Jr.        Fresno State

LB        Jahlani Tavai**             Sr.        Hawai‘i

LB        Malik Reed                   Sr.        Nevada

DB        Tyler Horton*                Sr.        Boise State

DB        Dameon Baber**           Sr.        Nevada

DB        Tariq Thompson**         So.       San Diego State

DB        Andrew Wingard *          Sr.        Wyoming



P          Ryan Stonehouse          So.       Colorado State

PK        Dominik Eberle*            Jr.        Utah State

KR/PR  Avery Williams**           So.       Boise State


Offensive Player of the Year: Brett Rypien, Sr., QB, Boise State

Defensive Player of the Year: Andrew Wingard, Sr., DB, Wyoming

Special Teams Player of the Year: Avery Williams, So., KR/PR, Boise State