press releases

Senior Bowl/ Bowl golf

Senior Bowl stars to return to Mobile

Tue, Apr 23, 2013

MOBILE -- Six stars of the 2013 Senior Bowl -- some of them potential first-round picks in the NFL Draft -- will return to the Port City in early May to play in the 15th annual Bowl Celebrity Golf Tournament.

For the first time ever, the Senior Bowl will join forces with the Bowl to help host the tournament.

The golf tournament tees off on Monday, May 6 at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Magnolia Grove. Shotgun start is 8 a.m.

Alabama linbacker Nico Johnson, Florida State quarterback E.J. Manuel, Oklahoma offensive tackle Lane Johnson, Purdue defensive lineman K.K. Short, Florida International safety Jonathan Cyprien and North Carolina defensive lineman Sylvester Williams will all play in the tournament, just a little more than a week after the NFL Draft. 

Lane Johnson and Williams are projected to go in the first round of the draft, while Manuel, Short and Cyprien could also be late first or second-round picks.

The NFL rookies will represent the Senior Bowl, but also help the tournament raise money for organizations such as Mike and Mickey Gottfried’s Team Focus, a year-round mentoring organization for young men without father figures in their lives.

"We think the golf tournament alliance is a great opportunity for the Senior Bowl and Bowl to work together on a project that benefits our sponsors and local football fans," said Senior Bowl Executive Director Phil Savage. "Between the school supply giveaway last Fall and now this tournament, it is important for these two organizations to have a quality relationship, so that we can contribute in a positive way to the Mobile community."

“We are happy to join forces with the Senior Bowl for the annual celebrity golf tournament. It’s proven to be a favorite event over the years and we are looking forward to working with them to make this year’s event a huge success for all of us,” said Jerry Silverstein, Bowl President.

Other celebrity golfers include Fran Curci, Mark Gottfried, Bobby Humphrey, Billy Kilmer, Jon Lieber, Johnny Majors, Ray Perkins, Dave Robinson and Wimp Sanderson.