news features


Five former Senior Bowlers inducted

Mon, Jul 30, 2018

MOBILE, Ala. (Aug. 1) – Eight former NFL standouts were inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame  in Canton, Ohio, and five of those played in the Senior Bowl.

The Class of 2018 included Brian Urlacher (2000 Senior Bowl), Terrell Owens (1996), Brian Dawkins (1996), Robert Brazile (1975) and Jerry Kramer (1958). The five were joined by Randy Moss, Ray Lewis and Bobby Beathard.

Owens chose not to participate in Saturday’s ceremony, but was honored by the hall for his career.

The five new inductees bring the total number of Senior Bowl alumni in the Pro Football Hall of Fame to 52 (out of 318 total members).

"We’re excited for our game’s former players and congratulate them on their induction," said Reese’s Senior Bowl Executive Director Jim Nagy. "For these five men, their NFL paths all started in Mobile, Ala., and ended in Canton, Ohio. The Senior Bowl is honored to have such legends as part of our game’s rich 70-year history."

Brazile and Kramer are Senior Finalists in this year’s class. A brief look at the five inductees from the Senior Bowl:

BRIAN URLACHER (New Mexico, 2000) (right)
Urlacher was an eight-time Pro Bowl selection in his 13 NFL seasons, all with the Chicago Bears. He was the 9th overall selection in the 2000 NFL Draft and is the Bears’ all-time leading tackler, a five-time All-Pro and was named the Defensive Player of the Year in 2005.

TERRELL OWENS (UT- Chattanooga, 1996) (pictured above)
In his 15 seasons in the NFL, the native of Alexander City, Ala., was a six-time Pro Bowler and five time All-Pro. The former third-round pick of the 49ers finished second in NFL history in receiving yardage (15,934) and third in touchdown receptions (153).

BRIAN DAWKINS (Clemson, 2006)
A nine-time Pro Bowl selection in 16 seasons, the former second-round pick helped the Eagles to eight playoff appearances, grabbing 37 career interceptions, including one in 15 straight seasons.

ROBERT BRAZILE (Jackson St., 1975)
The Mobile, Ala., native had one of the best nicknames in sports history – ‘Dr. Doom’ – and spent 10 seasons in the league living up to that name. The former first-round selection (6th overall) was an All-Pro five times and a seven-time Pro Bowler and spent most of his career terrorizing quarterbacks. He changed the game and position of outside linebacker with his combination of size and speed along with his pass rushing skills, and along with Lawrence Taylor, may have been one of the reasons sacks finally became an official statistic in 1982.

Anchored the Green Bay offensive line in the Vince Lombardi era, when the Packers had a winning record in all but two of his 11 seasons.  An All-NFL selection five times and three-time Pro Bowler, he was on five NFL Championship teams and won two Super Bowls with the Packers.

Kramer (1990), Brazile (1994), Urlacher (2008) and Owens (2010) are also members of the Senior Bowl Hall of Fame.