Skip to main content




NFL Players Association Named Presenting Sponsor of 75th Anniversary Celebration


MOBILE, AL – The Reese’s Senior Bowl, the nation’s most prestigious college football all-star scouting showcase, has reached an agreement with the NFL Players Association (NFLPA) to be the presenting sponsor of the game’s 75th Anniversary celebration.  This year’s Reese’s Senior Bowl will kickoff at 12:00 p.m. CT at Hancock Whitney Stadium on Saturday, February 3, 2024, and will be televised live on the NFL Network. Game week festivities for the 75th Anniversary team will include a formal gala event on Friday evening and a halftime ceremony on Saturday afternoon.


The inaugural Senior Bowl was played in Jacksonville, Florida in 1950 and moved to Mobile, Alabama the following year, where it has become an annual tradition for over seven decades.  The long, rich history of the Senior Bowl includes 56 players who have been enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio, and many of those all-time greats will be part of this year’s 75th Anniversary Team. 


Some of the legendary names on the ballot will include quarterbacks Dan Marino and Brett Favre, running backs LaDainian Tomlinson and Curtis Martin, wide receivers Terrell Owens and Hines Ward, offensive linemen Larry Allen and Steve Hutchinson, defensive ends Michael Strahan and DeMarcus Ware, defensive tackles Aaron Donald and Bryant Young, outside linebackers Von Miller and John Abraham, inside linebackers Derrick Brooks and Brian Urlacher, safeties Brian Dawkins and LeRoy Butler, and cornerbacks Richard Sherman and Aeneas Williams.


The 75th Anniversary Team selection process will include fan participation, as well as input from current NFL executives and the Senior Bowl’s executive committee.  The online fan vote will be launched at on Monday, September 4.


The Senior Bowl named a 50th Anniversary team in 1998 (see below), so rather than duplicate some legends for the 75th edition, eligibility for the diamond anniversary team will honor players who appeared on NFL rosters between 1998-2023.




QB     Joe Namath                     New York Jets

RB     Bo Jackson                      Oakland Raiders

          Franco Harris                   Pittsburgh Steelers

WR   Lynn Swann                     Pittsburgh Steelers

           Art Monk                        Washington Redskins

           Steven Largent                Seattle Seahawks

TE     Ozzie Newsome               Cleveland Browns

OL     Gene Upshaw                  Oakland Raiders

          Jerry Kramer                    Green Bay Packers

          Mike Webster                   Pittsburgh Steelers

          Randall McDaniel            Minnesota Vikings

          Tom Banks                       St. Louis Cardinals



DL     Joe Greene                      Pittsburgh Steelers

          Ed Jones                          Dallas Cowboys

          Bubba Smith                    Baltimore Colts

          Jack Youngblood              Los Angeles Rams

LB     Ray Nitschke                   Green Bay Packers

          Derrick Thomas               Kansas City Chiefs

          Ted Hendricks                 Oakland Raiders

DB     Dale Carter                      Kansas City Chiefs

          Albert Lewis                    Kansas City Chiefs

          Paul Krause                     Minnesota Vikings

          Roger Wehrli                   St. Louis Cardinals

PK     Morten Andersen            New Orleans Saints


In addition to being the presenting sponsor of the 75th Anniversary Team, this partnership connects the NFLPA with future union membership on the 2024 Reese’s Senior Bowl roster via week-long activations at the team hotel and also offers opportunities for former players to be part of the game’s football operations staff. 


Statement from Reese’s Senior Bowl Executive Director Jim Nagy

“We are excited about this partnership because it allows us to properly celebrate some of the Senior Bowl’s all-time greats. So many legendary players began their NFL journeys in Mobile and getting the NFLPA behind the 75th Anniversary allows us to bring them all back to where it started.  Game week is going to be special this year.”


Statement from NFLPA Chief Operating Officer Teri Smith

“To be the presenting sponsor of the 75th Senior Bowl is a tremendous opportunity. Our union is looking forward to honoring the many great player members who have been a part of this game’s rich history while also continuing our commitment to engage with some of our brightest future members.”


About the Senior Bowl

The Reese’s Senior Bowl is widely regarded as the preeminent college football all-star game and the first stage in the NFL Draft process. The longest continual-running all-star game has taken place in Mobile the past 74 years.  More than 900 NFL personnel, including key decision-makers from all 32 teams, and over 1,100 media members from around the country were credentialed last year. In each of the past three years, the Reese’s Senior Bowl has had 100 or more players drafted and over 40 percent of the entire draft class, which are both record-setting figures for any all-star game.


About the NFLPA

The National Football League Players Association is the union for professional football players in the National Football League. Established in 1956, the NFLPA has a long history of assuring proper recognition and representation of players’ interests. The NFLPA has shown that it will do whatever is necessary to assure that the rights of players are protected—including ceasing to be a union, if necessary, as it did in 1989. In 1993, the NFLPA again was officially recognized as the union representing the players and negotiated a landmark Collective Bargaining Agreement with the NFL. The current CBA will govern the sport through the 2030 NFL season. Learn more at


For More Information:


Molly Middleton                                                                                                                       

Senior Bowl Media Relations Coordinator                                    


Brandon Parker

NFLPA Senior Communications Manager